Stores 1-800-345-6296
close box

Attention! The version of Internet Explorer you are using prevents you from accessing features on
Use the link below to update your version of Internet Explorer or visit our site using Chrome or Firefox.

Download Internet Explorer 11
(Volumes 1 - 6)
Bela Bartok/Peter Bartok - Boosey & Hawkes

(Volumes 1 - 6)
Bela Bartok/Peter Bartok - Boosey & Hawkes
, In 1945 Bela Bartok described Mikrokosmos as a cycle of 153 pieces for piano written for "didactic" purposes, seeing them as a series of pieces in many different styles, representing a small world, or as the "world of the little ones, the children." Stylistically, Mikrokosmos reflects the influence of folk music on Bartok's life. The rhythms and harmonies he employed create music that is as modern today as when the cycle was written. The 153 pieces making up Mikrokosmos are divided into six volumes arranged according to technical and musical difficulty. Major teaching points highlighted in Volume 1 include unison melodies, question and answer, imitation and inversion. Volume 2 includes staccato, legato, accompaniment in broken triads, and accents. Volume 3 covers triplets, broken chords, and chromatic invention. Volume 4 covers thumb under, crossed hands, and triplets in 9/8 time. Volume 5 covers chords together and opposed, studies in double notes, and the whole tone scale and Volume 6 includes divided arpeggios, minor seconds, major sevenths, and ostinato. Standard editions contain text in English, French, German, and Hungarian.  Universal editions contain text in English, Portuguese, Spanish, and Japanese.  All volumes contain a preface by the editor, Peter Bartok (Bela Bartok's son), and a preface by the composer.
Select a Product
LE-ILate Elementary-Intermediate
LILate Intermediate
Volume 1 Standard 

UPC: 073999780796     Publisher ID: 48011048
Crescendo Rewards
This product can contribute rewards to participating music organizations.
LE-ILate Elementary-Intermediate
LILate Intermediate
My Library