Stores 1-800-345-6296
Gary Friedman - Gary Friedman

Seven Easy Melodies for Oboe with Piano Accompaniment Product Thumbnail 0 Product Thumbnail 1 Product Thumbnail 2 Product Thumbnail 3 Product Thumbnail 4 Product Thumbnail 5 Product Thumbnail 6 Product Thumbnail 7 Product Thumbnail 8 Product Thumbnail 9 Product Thumbnail 10 Product Thumbnail 11 Product Thumbnail 12 Product Thumbnail 13 Product Thumbnail 14 Product Thumbnail 15 Product Thumbnail 16 Product Thumbnail 17 Product Thumbnail 18
Gary Friedman - Gary Friedman
Click to review
Publisher Desc.  These were written at the suggestion of Janet Popesco Archibald, my oboe teacher, who expressed a need for more nice pieces for oboe students early in their training. Because of these students' relatively poor endurance, the piano takes over the melodies in places to give the oboist opportunities to rest. They are suitable for beginning and intermediate level students, both young and adult. Piano cues appear in the oboe part so more of the melodies can be played on the oboe when appropriate."First Melody" is derived from the cheerful parts of my First Melodies with the rhythm simplified. "Belvoir" is a piece I composed as a teenager but never wrote down before including it in this collection. It is named after the street I lived on at the time, in University Heights, Ohio. It may well be the most beautiful of the seven melodies. The two Hamelin pieces are from my Pied Piper of Hamelin (above). "Hamelin Before" is the happy melody in C major depicting Hamelin before the Pied Piper arrived. "Hamelin After" depicts Hamelin after the town lost its children. The notes of the melody are the same but they are played slower and the harmony is sad, in A minor. In the original woodwind quintet version, the Hamelin After melody is played on English horn. The "Sarabande and March" melodies are from my Little Suite for Orchestra and "March Fantasy" is derived from my Fantasy on a March. The audio is of "Belvoir," played by Janet Popesco Archibald and John McCarthy. I recommend that you buy the score in pdf version and separate pages with just the solos from the pages with both oboe and piano shown.
Select a Product
My Library
Currently Viewing
Oboe Solo Collection 

Publisher ID: MSGF01-456
VEVery Easy
My Library
What is My Library?
Powered by